Etheridge leads Azkals 23-man squad for 2022 WCQ match against China

The Philippine Azkals just released their squad list for the upcoming 2022 World Cup and 2023 Asian Cup joint qualifier match against China in Bacolod this October 15.

Confirmed as part of the list is EFL Championship goalkeeper Neil Etheridge of Cardiff City FC who is considered as the most seasoned veteran as of the moment who had a commendable stint in the English Premier League last season.

Stephan Schrock of Ceres-Negros FC, who also featured in the Bundesliga with TSG Hoffenheim and Eintracht Frankfurt, will most likely captain the national team having done so in the most recent matches.

Newcomers in the squad are Niko De Vera of American club Portland Timbers II and Elias Edison Mordal of Norwegian club Brattvag IL.

Meanwhile, newly capped duo Justin Baas of Dutch Eredivisie club AZ Alkmaar and Yrick Gallantes of Scotland’s Gala Fairydean Rovers make their immediate return in Goran Milojević’s list as Jovin Bedic of PFL club Kaya FC Iloilo and Malaysia Super League club Kuala Lumpur FA’s Luke Woodland are back as well after missing the squad in the previous matches against Syria and Guam.

Below is the complete squad list as released by The Philippine Azkals through their social media channels (Source: The Azkals Facebook Page)

Source: The Azkals

The Philippine Azkals will host China in Panaad Park and Stadium on October 15, 2019 for the 2022 World Cup and 2023 Asian Cup joint qualifiers. Kickoff is at 8PM and will be broadcasted or streamed live at ESPN5’s 5Plus channel.

Photo credit: The Azkals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s