PH Women’s Football Team set for primetime in SEAG 2019

The Philippine Women’s National Football Team are set for evening kickoffs for the group stage of the 30th Southeast Asian Games which will be held in Binan Football Stadium.

In a post through the team’s official social media channels, Coach Let Dimzon and the rest of her squad begin their campaign on November 26, 2019 against regional powerhouse Myanmar followed by a clash with Malaysia three days later on November 29.

All matches are set to kick off at 8:00PM and will be hosted in Binan Football Stadium which has just recently been able to fully activate its lighting system, making it ready to host evening matches as evidenced during the Philippines Football League.

Aside from the initial fixtures of the national team, the semifinals and medal matches have also been determined where Rizal Memorial Football Stadium will come into the scene.

Photo credit: Philippine Women’s National Football Team


Thai club Chonburi confirms acquisition of Azkals forward Curt Dizon

Top Filipino football talents’ moves to Thai League 1 continue with Curt Dizon’s transfer to Chonburi FC from Ceres-Negros being the latest development.

The deal was completed and confirmed as of July 17 via official sources making Dizon the fifth player from the same Filipino club to make the jump to the Southeast Asian neighbor along with Kevin Ingreso, Alvaro Silva, and Martin Steuble.

With Chonburi, under manager Sasom Pobprasert, currently in mid-table at ninth place in the on-going League 1, the club will expect 25-year-old Dizon to provide the necessary impetus with the hopes of further improving their place in the table and avoid a possible relegation battle in what seems to be a tightly contested season.

Curt Dizon is a pacy forward-winger who operates on the left with Ceres and has the capability to either create chances for his teammates or score goals. His strengths lie mainly in his pace and dribbling ability – tools that could help him succeed in his new club.

Aside from a successful tenure with Ceres-Negros, where he helped the club win the 2018 domestic league, Curt also played for Philippine-based clubs Global FC and FC Meralco Manila.

Dizon also has been a regular mainstay in the Azkals squad amassing 16 competitive appearances for his country including the AFF Suzuki Cup and the historic 2019 AFC Asian Cup campaigns.

Dizon and Chonburi are scheduled to face up against Suphanburi which has fellow Azkals Alvaro Silva and Patrick Deyto on Saturday, July 20, at 9:00PM local time (10:00PM Philippine Standard Time).

Photo credit: Chonburi FC Facebook page

PFF U15 Championship sees 85 goals in first weekend

The Philippine Football Federation’s Stars of Tomorrow Under-15 Championship has completed its first set of fixtures in different venues nationwide during the past weekend that saw a festival of goals.

Federated FA of Masbate (FFAM) of Group D supplied the most when it comes to the goalscoring statistic after shaking the back of the net in their favor 28 times while maintaining cleansheets in two matches with an 11-0 win and a 17-0 walloping both against Legazpi-Albay RFA.

SOCSARGEN FA scored a massive victory with a 16-1 result at home against Sultan Kudarat FA (SKRFA) in Group H while Mount Apo RFA (MARFA) of Group H rounded up the double-figures feats with a 17-2 result against Maguindanao.

Meanwhile, two clashes ended up tightly contested with Negros Occidental FA (NOFA) carving out a massive 1-0 victory away against evenly matched rivals Central Visayas (CVRFA) in Group E and a Group F encounter between Zamboanga-Sulu-Tawi-tawi FA (ZAMBASULTA) and Zamboanga del Norte-Dipolog RFA (ZANDIFA) settled with both teams sharing spoils off a 1-1 draw.

RFA of Camarines Norte (REFACAMNOR) got a convincing 8-3 victory over Central Bicol RFA (CBRFA) at home in Group D while National Capital Region (NCR FA) kept Cavite FA (CAFA) at bay with a 1-6 scoreline in an away victory in Group A.

Early top individual performers on record are Rich Paraña (five goals), Harold Calandria (four goals), and Cyrus Princillo (three goals) all from FFAM while Matthias Lozano of NCR also has three goals under his name.

Here are the complete match results:

Source: Philippine Football Federation

Photo credit: Philippine Football Federation